Orthopaedics

Mackay Memorial Hospital ‘s Department of Orthopedics averages 11,000 outpatient visits and 600 surgeries a month, with a total of 141 inpatient beds.
In addition to General Orthopedics, we’re also equipped with a hyperbaric oxygen therapy center and a biomechanics Lab. The former provides treatments for chronic osteomyelitis, carbon monoxide poisoning, and bone necrosis caused by radiation therapy; the latter is currently working with the Institute of Biomedical Engineering of National Yang-Ming University on the research of artificial joint, biomechanics, and orthopedic diseases. In recent years, we’ve been dedicated to the development of sports medicine, arthroscopy, and minimally invasive spine surgery. With a view to the future, our department plans to set up a spinal trauma center to provide emergency treatment, surgeries, rehabilitation, and other services to patients with spinal injuries. With the introduction of advanced surgical navigation systems, we’re looking to benefit more patients.
Service Item

Knee replacement for patients with severe knee osteoarthritis.

Service Description
For severe knee osteoarthritis, after treatment of oral medication and injection fails, knee replacement surgery is a great choice for those who still suffer from pains and joint deformity.

Being the first hospital in Taiwan to practice Western medicine, Mackay Memorial Hospital has been treating severe knee osteoarthritis with artificial knee replacement surgery ever since the 1970s.

While early traditional surgery took care of the pains and deformaty, it left much to be desired when it came to functionality, as the patients still couldn’t fully bend their knees, squat, kneel, or exercise their joints.

In recent years, surgical procedures and approaches have continued to be improved upon, and new materials to be studied and developed. Our hospital adopts highly flexible and wear-proof artificial knee joint designed specifically for women. Our medical equipment is on a par with that of Europe and the US . It is adaptable to different symptoms and works well with minimally invasive surgical techniques to provide patients with safety, comfort, and the best quality of life!

Who needs it?
For patients with severe knee osteoarthritis who still suffer from pains and joint deformity after treatment of oral drugs and injection fails, knee replacement surgery is an excellent choice.

The average life span for an artificial knee joint is about ten to fifteen years. Not all patients need artificial joint replacement. Younger patients and those with mild symptoms will fully improve with medication, physical therapy, arthroscopic surgery, and high tibialosteotomy. Therefore, in order to reach the maximum therapeutic effect, appropriate treatments should be selected according to the different severity levels of arthritis.


Treatment Methods

The principle of artificial joint replacement is to rectify deformity, remove the damaged surface, and replace it with metal component with the help of UHMWPE pads between metal and the joint. Artificial joints are an effective replacement that can bend to an angle of 135 degrees. F or patients with severe joint degeneration, it helps them regain the ability to walk and to have a normal life.

Currently, different parts of the joint surface can be replaced in accordance with the scope and location of damage to the knee joint. Based on professional judgment, doctors will recommend the area of replacement to the patient.

1. Anterior Wear: PF Knee Replacement surgery for articular   surface of patella and femur removes the degenerative surface and replaces it with metal component. The reconstruction only involves part of the anterior surface of patella and femur, therefore the incision, bleeding, and post-operative pains would be kept to a minimum. As a result, complete recovery of functions can be expected much sooner.

°©¬ì.PDFX-rays before surgeries
°©¬ì.PDFX-rays after surgeries

2. Medial/Lateral Wear: Uniknee Replacement is reserved for patients who only have wear in one medial or lateral joint compartment of tibia or femur. The damaged articular surface will be replaced with metal component after excision.

°©¬ì.PDFX-rays before and after surgeries on medial compartments of tibia and femur.
°©¬ì.PDFX-rays before and after surgeries on lateral compartments of tibia and femur.

3. Anterior/Medial/Lateral Degeneration: Total Knee Replacement is necessary when the articular surface suffers from severe degeneration and deformity. Total knee replacement consists of UHMWPE components for patella, as well as components for femur and tibia. The patella component is entirely made of UHMWPE, and is anchored to the patella with bone cement. Metal components, aided with UHMWPE pads, are used for femoral and tibial joints and anchored to the tibial components.

Most of the pads are designed in the same shape as femoral articular surface in order to increase stability and reduce contact pressure from polyethylene material. As modern technologies advance, the UHMWPE pad has also greatly improved in both strength and wear-resistance.

°©¬ì.PDF °©¬ì.PDF

Potential Surgical Risks

All surgeries come with potential risks. Before operation, the anesthesiologist would evaluate the patient’s physical conditions, and consult with other doctors if necessary, so that the risk of surgery can be kept to a minimum. Patients with diabetes, hypertension, and heart disease aren’t necessarily prohibited from surgery. Careful evaluation and preoperative control treatment are the key. Infection is the most common and most damaging postoperative complication. It could happen within a few days or a few years after surgery.   Antibiotic treatment is required for milder cases. Removal of artificial joint and debridement of sequestrum are required for more serious cases. Only after infection is under control can a new artificial joint be implanted. Fortunately, the rate of occurrence is low. Take total knee replacement for example, our hospital has a rate of less than 0.5%. Infection may be effectively avoided by strict aseptic techniques and the postoperative use of antibiotics .

Surgical Benefits

  1. Long-term studies clearly show artificial joints have excellent durability, and can significantly improve patients’ quality of life.
  2. Current use of minimally invasive surgical techniques helps reduce the size of incision and the pains. Most of the patients undergoing total knee replacement can be discharged approximately in five days.

Surgical Complications and Possible Treatment

Although the success rate  of surgery is high and the chance of complications small, a few patients still might develop complications, such as poor wound healing, instability, damage to   nerves and blood vessels, infections, fractures, fat embolism, venous thrombosis, problems with stretching mechanism, and stiffness. With proper choice of incision position, recognition of risk factors, as well as appropriate and immediate treatment, skin problems can be effectively avoided. Attention to ligament balance and flexion-extension gap balancing can help maintain proper knee stability. Damage to nerves and blood vessels is rare. With our total knee replacement technology and experience, the rate of complications is extremely low.
Prevention of   venous thrombosis is necessary   because it   is the most likely of fatal complications. Current   methods   of prevention include   early -stage exercise s ,   mechanical assist devices,   and   the use of certain   drugs. With correct   surgical techniques   and   the right choice of components , such complications   can usually  be avoided.

Result


Surgery Code Cases
Shoulder hemiarthroplaty 81.81 11
Total elbow 81.84 4
Total wrist 81.73 0
Total finger 81.71 1
Total Hip 81.51 88
Hemi Hip 81.52 146
Total knee 81.54 231
Ankle 81.56 0
Note:The result was from95/8/1– 6/7/31

人工關節

馬偕醫院骨科目前平均單月門診量為11000人次,平均單月手術量約為600台,病床數總共有141床。
除一般骨科之外,另設有高壓氧中心及生物力學研究室,前者提供慢性骨髓炎,一氧化碳中毒,放射性骨壞死等患者之治療;後者目前與陽明大學醫學工程研究所合作,致力於人工關節,生物力學與骨科疾病之研究,近年來更戮力於發展運動醫學,關節鏡及脊椎微創手術展望未來,本科計劃成立脊椎外傷中心,以提供脊椎外傷患者急救處置、手術、復健等服務,並將引進先進的手術導航系統期許能造福更多患者。
提供之項目

人工膝關節置換手術治療嚴重退化性膝關節炎

項目說明
嚴重退化性膝關節炎經口服藥物及注射治療無效之後,病人仍受疼痛及關節變形之苦,人工膝關節置換手術治療是很好的選擇。
本院亦是台灣最早之西醫醫院,早自西元1970年代開始已運用人工膝關節置換手術來治療嚴重退化性膝關節炎。初期傳統的手術是解決了疼痛與變形,但部份功能效果不盡理想,如病人無法完全屈膝、蹲、跪,影響關節活動。
近年來手術方式、途徑不斷的改進,材質不斷研發創新,本院更使用高曲度、超耐磨、女性專用之人工膝關節醫療器材,與歐美同步,適應病況、配合微創手術技術,使病患手術安全舒適,穫得最佳的生活品質!
誰需要做
嚴重退化性膝關節炎經口服藥物及注射治療無效之後,病人仍受疼痛及關節變形之苦,人工膝關節置換手術治療是很好的選擇。
人工膝關節其平均壽命約為十至十五年。並非所有的病人都需要作人工關節置換,有些較年輕及較輕微的病狀之病患,以內科葯物療法、物理復健、關節鏡手術及高位脛骨切骨矯正術,均可充分的改善病人的病情。因此,針對不同嚴重程度的關節炎,選擇適當的治療方法,才能達到最大的治療效果。
如何治療

人工關節的原理是矯正變形及將已損壞的關節表面切除後,以金屬作表面替代,在關節兩邊金屬之間再輔以高分子聚合物做墊片,替代自然關節的效果很好,能活動彎曲的角度達到一百三十五度,對於膝關節退化嚴重的病人,能夠重回方便行走及日常生活。
目前依照膝關節損壞的範圍及部位,可以選擇置換不同部分的關節表面,置換範圍則由醫師專業判斷給予病患建議:
1. 膝關節前腔磨損: 髕骨及股骨關節表面之置換 ( PF Knee Replacement ) 將磨損之髕骨及股骨的關節表面切除後,以金屬作表面代替。因重建只切除髕骨及股骨前方部份之關節表面,手術傷口小,流血少,術後疼痛少,功能恢復較完全及快速。

°©¬ì.PDF圖:術前X光

°©¬ì.PDF圖:術後X光

2. 膝關節內/外腔磨損: 內/外半人工關節置換 ( Uniknee Replacement) 用於脛骨及股骨內或外腔關節只有一關節腔磨損時,將磨損之脛骨及股骨的關節表面切除後,以金屬作表面代替。

°©¬ì.PDF上圖:脛骨及股骨內腔關節術前術後X光

°©¬ì.PDF上圖:脛骨及股骨外腔關節術前術後X光

3. 膝關節前/內/外腔全部磨損:全膝人工關節置換(Total Knee Replacement) 當膝關節關節面嚴重磨損變形時,必須施行全膝人工關節置換。全膝人工關節是由髕骨高分子量聚乙烯組件、脛骨組件和股骨組件形成關節接合而成。髕骨組件全部是高分子量聚乙烯件,由骨泥固定在髕骨上,而脛骨和股骨關節之金屬件間再輔以脛骨關節墊片(高分子量聚乙烯)固定在脛骨組件上。
大部份的墊片設計形狀和股骨關節面一致,以增加穩定度並減少聚乙烯接觸的壓力。
而以現今科技所製造的高分子量聚乙烯(UHMWPE)墊片,其強度及耐磨性也改進很多。

°©¬ì.PDF

°©¬ì.PDF

手術可能的風險

只要是手術均有其潛在的危險性,手術前麻醉醫師會評估病人的身體狀況,如需要還會請其他科醫師會診,讓手術的危險降至最低。糖尿病、高血壓、 心臟病並非手術之禁忌,惟術前需仔細評詁及先行控制治療。至於術後的併發症 以感染(Infection)最常見,也最具破壞力,它可能發生在術後幾天內,也可能於 幾年後發生。輕者需抗生素治療,重者需將人工關節拔除、死骨清創,待感染控制 後再植入新的人工關節。所幸它鮮少發生,以本院全人工膝關節置換為例,它的發生 率低於0.5%。感染的發生可藉由嚴格的無菌技術及手術中手術後抗生素的使用而有效避免。

手術的優點

  1. 長期追蹤研究清楚的顯示:人工關節的耐久性佳且能明顯改善病人的生活品質。
  2. 現手術使用微創技術,傷口日益縮小,疼痛減少,本院全人工膝關節置換後多半五天左右即可出院。

手術的併發症及可能處理方式

手術的成功率相當高,發生併發症的機會很低,但仍然有少數的病人會發生併發症,如:傷口癒合不良、不穩定、
神經血管的受損、感染、骨折、脂肪栓塞、靜脈栓塞、伸展機制的問題及僵硬。藉由適當的切口位置選擇, 認知危險因子及當問題發生時立刻適當的處理,可以避免皮膚方面的問題。對韌帶平衡及屈曲,伸展間隙平衡加以注意,就可以有適當的膝關節穩定度,神經血管的受損並不常見,以本院全人工膝關節置換技術及經驗,以上併發症發生率相當的低。
對於靜脈栓塞的預防是必須性的,因為在膝關節置換時,它是最有可能發生的致命性併發症。目前預防的方式包括早期的活動, 運動,機械性輔助裝置及使用某些藥物。這些併發症通常可以藉由正確的手術技巧及選擇正確的組件而避免。

近五年的成功率及病人現身說法

Surgery Code Cases
Shoulder hemiarthroplaty 81.81 11
Total elbow 81.84 4
Total wrist 81.73 0
Total finger 81.71 1
Total Hip 81.51 88
Hemi Hip 81.52 146
Total knee 81.54 231
Ankle 81.56 0
備註:資料期間是 95/8/1~96/7/31
°©¬ì.PDF

這是位種田老伯,對其術後效果非常得意,同時展現站立與蹲下之情況

°©¬ì.PDF

這是位旅居美國的婦人,因膝退化且嚴重內翻變形,經友人介紹回台手術,對其術後效果非常滿意,所花之醫療費用之少,更是讚不絕口